PDA

View Full Version : lube and bullet design question

twc1964
01-18-2014, 05:37 PM
Ok folks, I'm new to casting and need info. I'm going to cast 158gr lswc boolits and also 230gr for my pistols and I'm not sure which kind of mold desugn to get. i don't want my loads to make me unpopular at the range with huge white clouds of smoke and need to know if tumble lube designs are less smoky than the boolits with the deeper lube grooves and hard lube. i use unique in the 45 and universal in the 357. Thx for your knowledge.

Bohica793
01-18-2014, 07:54 PM
I make my own lube from beeswax, Crisco and lanolin with just a bit of paraffin thrown in for good measure. It's inexpensive, made from common household products and doesn't smoke anymore than commercial lubes. Works perfectly up to 1400fps (at least that is as fast as I have pushed my loads). I have never been a fan of tumble lubing, but that is not to say that it doesn't work. You'll have to decide for yourself.

As to bullets, I am real partial to the 358477 and 358429 SWCs in 357s and the HG68 (or clones) in the .45. My 1911 loves the HG68 SWC, but my Glock won't feed them and I have to shoot the 452374 RN in it.

bhn22
01-18-2014, 08:47 PM
They're all going to smoke to some degree. Even the powder generates smoke.

44man
01-19-2014, 08:53 AM
I would not use a hard lube and Alox smokes more then most. TL boolits work fine with a good lube too.
I never notice lube smoke and never smell lube. LBT Soft Blue, Felix and a hundred others do not make much smoke, even 50-50 beeswax and Alox is OK.
Powder does make more smoke then a good lube.

btroj
01-19-2014, 09:51 AM
Don't want smoke to be an issue? Then don't shoot at indoor ranges.
I never notice smoke outdoors, it is always there indoors.

myg30
01-19-2014, 11:49 AM