PDA

View Full Version : Which Chronograph?

mtgrs737
12-03-2007, 02:02 PM
I don't know if this is the right place for this question, but I didn't see anywhere else that it fit any better.

I am looking to get a chronograph to use in testing loads for my cast boolits and would like to hear from those here that have a chronograph and like it.

Thanks in advance!

Rich

Sundogg1911
12-03-2007, 02:09 PM
I have a Chrony Beta Master with indoor shooting lights. It works well. I had a Pro-Chrono that also worked well, but a Buddy of mine mistook it for Big Game and Shot it! (He did pay me for it though) Either one would be a decent choice in my opinion.

freedom475
12-03-2007, 02:21 PM
As far as cheap "in-home",I have had two Chrony"s and they worked Ok. One I shot on purpose because I was sick of it reading Error in bright sun light:twisted:. The other I shot on accident with a scoped revolver[smilie=1: My brother And I both have a Pro-chrono and we both prefer the Pro-Chrono's.:Fire: They are both good choices and we set them up in-line with the VERY-expensive unit that the range has and they were very well metered.

AZ-Stew
12-03-2007, 04:10 PM
The Chrony units are good enough for our work. I prefer the ones that allow the control head containing the electronics and display to be brought back to the shooting bench, rather than being exposed to fire while attached to the metal case and sensor unit.

A couple of caveats:

If you shoot at a public range, string some kind of barrier or visual indicator (rope with pennants, surveyor's tape, crime scene tape, etc.) between the bench and the sensor unit so no one will walk between them, get their feet tangled in the control cable and pull your control head and display off the bench and ruin the display. One of the range masters at our range did mine in during a target changing break. I have to send the head back for replacement of the display.