PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum, a brief introduction.

ColterB
01-03-2014, 02:29 AM
Good evening, gentlemen. I just registered after reading posts on here on and off for a number of years. Not surprisingly, the reason I finally registered so I could make posts of my own is because I just got into boolit casting.

I've been reloading since I was 15. Authored an article for Guns & Ammo when I was 16 (did not appear in print until I was 17, though). I started working in a local mom and pop gun store when I was 17. I'm an Amateur Radio Operator, an Eagle Scout, and an NRA certified Range Safety Officer. I like backpacking, camping, shooting... most outdoor activities. I have shot casual IDPA matches a few times and enjoy it, but I usually shoot by myself or with friends.

Enough about me, though... Let's talk about boolit casting.
I sort of took the leap on a whim. Right now I am mainly looking at saving money. $4 a box 9mm and .38spl just has a certain appeal. I like shooting, and I want to shoot more. As time goes on I would like to get into some cartridges that are made for cast boolits. I've got a soft spot for trap door Springfields in .45-70. I wouldn't mind a .45 Colt of some type. An 1853 Enfield or an 1861 Colt Navy would be really neat. Maybe a .25-35, .44-40, etc... who knows.

As far as equipment... I have a near endless supply of range scrap, a cast iron skillet, and a propane burner from Lowe's. I've got a Lyman ingot mold and a Lee 4-20 lead pot on the way that should be here within a week or so. My first bullet mold, a six cavity Lee, along with some Liquid Alox should be here shortly. Waiting on that, I have processed about 100lbs of lead out of range scrap that is ready to be cast into boolits.

I have a lot to learn. I've been reading a lot for the past week or so, but there's nothing quite like hands on experience to show you how little you know about a topic. Should be an exciting adventure, though.

jmort
01-03-2014, 02:33 AM