PDA

View Full Version : Teach Me...I Don't Understand

Southern Shooter
01-02-2014, 05:33 PM
I have been loading my Ruger SRH Alaskan .454 Casull with 360 gr cast boolits over 22 gr of W296 with Standard Small Rifle Primers. Velocities from this short-barrel revolver have been about + or - 950 FPS.

Today, I loaded the exact same round with the exact same steps with the exception of the primer. I used Magnum Small Rifle Primers.

Velocity dropped to an average of 872 FPS. But, the group tightened up. Why??

Thanks

Buck-N-Rut
01-02-2014, 05:37 PM
Not sure why the velocity dropped but you may have gotten a more consistent powder burn which led to better groups. I'm fairly new to this as well.

dtknowles
01-02-2014, 07:17 PM
Different day, different results. That does seem strange How many groups did you shoot with the new load? Were the ambient conditions different for the more recent test or did you do a same day two different loads test? Were the primers from the same manufacturer? What was the standard deviation for the velocities of each of the loads tested? How much did the groups tighten up? How long was the time between shooting the old loads and the new ones, what was the bullet alloy and temper, could the bullets have changed hardness due to ageing?

Tim

Southern Shooter
01-02-2014, 07:38 PM
The air temp was lower. By about 30 degrees. I kept the gun and the loads warm until at the very moment of shooting trying to off-set that.

lwknight
01-02-2014, 08:24 PM
Depending on the brand of primer, generally magnum primers are simply harder to withstand higher pressures. Some brands actually do have higher brissiance

The magnum primer could have given you a smoother light off or a harder start but burned the powder before the bullet exited the barrel lowering the velocity.
Many possibilities available. A harder start and smooth ride should improve accuracy.
Who knows? Strange things happen.

felix
01-02-2014, 08:36 PM