PDA

View Full Version : dacron fiber 30/06 ?

Desertbuck
01-02-2014, 02:16 PM
This is my first attempt at using Dacron as a filler. The load consists of 35 grains of IMR 4895 180 grain Lee Boolit ww alloy with gas check. My reason for using a filler is I have been experiencing hang fires ever since it's gotten colder. Now on to my question as you can see from the picture my scale says 2 grains that is what I have found to be the amount of Dacron that will keep the powder in place. With no Boolit seated, I test this buy throwing it across the room until no powder shifted. I read somewhere that most of you we're using only 3/4 of a grain. Is 2 grains going to cause me problems? I'm not packing it tight, but I am packing it just till I get a little resistance. However I did salvage this fiber from one of my wifes dog old toys.[smilie=1: And I am under the impression that all stuffed toys are stuffed with Dacron fiber. I intend on using this in my m1 Garand.

Desertbuck
01-02-2014, 02:27 PM
Sorry having trouble uploading the pictures guys.

ShooterAZ
01-02-2014, 02:40 PM
The filler does not to be tight, just enough to basically hold the powder in place. I do suggest 3/4 grains. And for the Garand, I would start around 28-30 grains and work up. You will probably get reliable function (and best accuracy) at around 32 grains...maybe a little more. Once you reach this point, don't try hot rodding it any further.

JSnover
01-02-2014, 02:45 PM
Since the problem didn't crop up until the temperature fell, maybe a hotter primer would cure it. I used Dacron in my 06 and my 357 for a little while but it really wasn't necessary, I just felt like experimenting with light loads. The best solution IMO is to use a heavier charge or a powder that is less position-sensitive. You will hear a lot of warnings against using Dacron filler.

Larry Gibson
01-02-2014, 02:59 PM