PDA

View Full Version : Should I use these bullets or remelt?

spur0701
11-25-2007, 12:15 PM
I'm a noob when it comes to caseting, have bought some equipment but haven't casted anything yet. While scrounging for some WW at a local scrap dealer (the price of which was .25 a pound, that a fair price these days?) the guy brought out 25 lbs of cast bullets he said someone had sold him as scrap.....he sold me those at .25 a lb too. They measure out at .308-.311 but don't look like they have been sized and are weighing out at about 173-177 g.....it's a conical with a flat nose, it looks sorta like a Lyman #311041. Should I size, lube, and use these or remelt? The size is varying a little but I'm assuming that's because they haven't been sized...and the weight is varing a few grains.

IcerUSA
11-25-2007, 12:23 PM
Go ahead and try a few , might be surprized and if they don't shoot good , make new ones with them . :)

Keith

montana_charlie
11-25-2007, 12:24 PM
Personally, I would melt 'em down.
Anything I cast which looked that poor would get remelted before they even cooled down.
CM

Three44s
11-25-2007, 12:32 PM
I would sort through them by size and appearance.

Try lubrisizing a few and even use LLA and lube again after the lubrisizer.

It never hurts to have a few easy plinkers around.

And then get casting on your WW's ..............

BTW, from what I have seen lately ............. $.25 a pound ain't bad shoppin'

Three 44s

Blackhawk Convertable
11-25-2007, 05:10 PM
If you want to get rid of some, I'd like to try them in my 30-30 Winchester for distance shooting. I can send you some ingots or cash to more than make up for the weight.

STP
11-25-2007, 06:23 PM
Cull them by inspection. Rounded driving bands and low weights by average would be the the easiest method. If 60% don`t meet that criteria, re-melt them.

testhop
11-25-2007, 08:08 PM
i say go ahead and try some if you dont you will always wonder what if
you can always mellt them

grumpy one
11-25-2007, 08:16 PM