PDA

View Full Version : Help me fix wrinkles - NOE 9mm 135g

wingnut49b
12-16-2013, 08:17 PM
I have been casting 45's for a couple years, and I'm trying to cast for my 9mm now too. I'm getting wrinkles that I can't stop.

I've cleaned it a couple times, with dawn dish soap and brake cleaner. That didn't fix it. So I thought I wasn't getting the mold hot enough with the smaller cavities. Tonight I cast until I got hot enough for frosting, and still wrinkles! :(

This is my first NOE mold, if that matters. My 45 mold is a MP, and these are the only two I've cast with.

What am I doing wrong??

waco
12-16-2013, 08:24 PM
Possible lead contamination?
Have you fluxed the mix well?

smokesahoy
12-16-2013, 08:27 PM
do a couple hundred hotter than normal and see if that doesn't break it in and fix em up

oh you said frosty.. well cast a few hundred frosties for the holiday and see if it doesnt break it in.

i assume you have the flow maxed out within reason and fill each cavity with one fell swoop right? you arent drip dripping it till full? nice large puddle? get a good 10 second puddle going and just cast cast the night away.

wingnut49b
12-16-2013, 08:30 PM
I'm running WW alloy, and pouring at 720* with a frozone PID kit. How much hotter would help? Another 50*?

The same alloy works great with the 45 200g SWC's, so I don't think that's it, but I've been wrong before!

Beagle333
12-16-2013, 08:34 PM
I'd say crank it up, at least the other 50 degrees, and then pour a pile, like smokesahoy says, then bring the temp back down and see if you hit the sweet spot. And get that lead in that little hole fast! Don't let it swirl around on the sprue plate and dribble down in the hole... flood the hole as quick and as cleanly as you can, and then you should be able to drop it back down to 730-720 and keep making good ones. I find those little boolits don't transfer as much heat to the mold as you'd think.