PDA

View Full Version : Average bore size on a .40 S&W pistol?

Gunslinger
12-10-2013, 06:16 AM
I have ordered a EAA Witness in .40 S&W to use for IPSC Limited Division. I also bought a Lee 6-cav, 175gn TC mold that I will be casting with. Now, I want to get started making boolits for it before it arrives but I have no experience with this caliber. I want to get a die from Lathesmith for my Star, as I am very happy with his other dies. Only question is, what size should I get?

Best thing to do would be to wait for the gun to arrive and then slug the barrel. But from my experience if you are loading for e.g. a 9mm gun, then .357 works 99% of the time and the same can be said about .358 in .38 revolvers. What is the "lucky number" in a .40 S&W? I am thinking .401, but I could be wrong??

If there are any EAA owner with .40 S&W barrels that know their size I will gladly hear from them.

ihuntbear
12-10-2013, 08:40 AM
I have ordered a EAA Witness in .40 S&W to use for IPSC Limited Division. I also bought a Lee 6-cav, 175gn TC mold that I will be casting with. Now, I want to get started making boolits for it before it arrives but I have no experience with this caliber. I want to get a die from Lathesmith for my Star, as I am very happy with his other dies. Only question is, what size should I get?

Best thing to do would be to wait for the gun to arrive and then slug the barrel. But from my experience if you are loading for e.g. a 9mm gun, then .357 works 99% of the time and the same can be said about .358 in .38 revolvers. What is the "lucky number" in a .40 S&W? I am thinking .401, but I could be wrong??

If there are any EAA owner with .40 S&W barrels that know their size I will gladly hear from them.

I wouldn't buy a mould without measuring your bore first .most guns shoot better having a 001 to .002 larger boolet

Dusty Bannister
12-10-2013, 09:18 AM