PDA

View Full Version : Case Length and trimming.

45-70 Chevroner
12-07-2013, 05:17 PM
I have been reloading and casting for over 40 years. My case trimming process is when I get some range brass or new brass I size and trim all the cases. After I have fired these cases four or five times I check to see if they need trimming again and if needed I trim again. I have got cases that I have loaded as many as 8 or 10 times, pistols even more. I shoot almost exclusively cast boolits, and most of those were mediam pressure loads. In the last 10 years I probably haven't shot more than a dozen or more J-words in rifle or pistol. What I am woundering is how many times do most of you shoot a paticular case and reload it? I have had probably less than 10 case seperations in all the years I have been casting and reloading.

detox
12-07-2013, 06:15 PM
Remington brass is softer and will not work or age harden as easily as older Winchester brass. I hear Winchester just recently started using softer brass. I have witnessed my 18 year old 223 Winchester necks splitting when fired in my Colt AR15.

Remington soft pistol brass will hold same consistant neck tension over and over.

Annealing does wonders for aged or work hardened brass.

243winxb
12-07-2013, 09:20 PM
What I am woundering is how many times do most of you shoot a paticular case and reload it? In 243win with full power loads, so far 18 loadings with FL bushing die. Still good for more loadings.

Kraschenbirn
12-07-2013, 10:04 PM