PDA

View Full Version : Anyone lubegroove lube and Lee Liquid Alox

n5odj
08-27-2005, 06:10 PM
Anyone lube their cast bullets w/ a sizer/luber AND also use Lee Liquid Alox on top of that? Does it do any good? Is it serious overkill? Does it do any harm?

Thanks,

Robert in the hills of NC

waksupi
08-27-2005, 07:15 PM
Anyone lube their cast bullets w/ a sizer/luber AND also use Lee Liquid Alox on top of that? Does it do any good? Is it serious overkill? Does it do any harm?

Thanks,

Welcome aboard, Robert.
I really can't see any reason to do it, assuming your bullet is properly fitted to the bore, and you are using a good lube. It seems to be adding an extra unnecessary step. I'd consider it over kill, if the two aforementioned conditions are met. You may actually be over-lubing. What is your application?

n5odj
08-27-2005, 07:29 PM
The groove lube is 50/50. I'm new to casting (Duh... like you couldn't tell). I tried pan lubing, but it sure is a mess. So I thought I'd try out the Lyman450. After figuring out how it works, I'm pleased with the results. Yep, I'm sizing the bullets, but just barely. They are as cast ~..4598 & the die is .459. Mostly it's just to lube them.
Haven't yet shot any through my guide gun, but I reckon they'll do OK. I'll try it w/o the LLA & just the groove lube, but I know I've always got the option of adding it later. It's just hard for me to picture using only LLA w/ these standard grooved bullets (not made for tumble lubing). LLA is so easy to use that it would be nice if only that could be used.

Robert

Bass Ackward
08-27-2005, 08:29 PM

Thanks,

Robert,

There are many applications for Liquid Alox. And sometimes using both.

Examples:

1. Bore ride bullets. It can add as much as .001 to the nose diameter if you need a good fit. It puts lube out where you need it if you have a long nose design like a 311284, making a tight bullet easier to chamber too.