PDA

View Full Version : Home Built Lube Heater

Morgan Astorbilt
11-16-2007, 08:53 PM
Boys, Here's a shot of the lube heater I'm assembling for my new Star sizer. It started out as an 1100w Black & Decker steam iron, which I've stripped down to its sole plate and thermostat. It's temporarily clamped to the 1/2"x5" aluminum plate, to which I've bolted the sizer, to test the temperature at the lowest heat setting. It seemed too hot, so I've slipped stainless steel washers between the sole plate and the 1/2" plate. This seemed to do the job. I can always fine tune it by adding more washers. All that's left, is to drill and tap the plate for the sole plate and sheet metal cover which I haven't construced yet. As you can see, the top is off the sizer, I've cleaned and emptied it using a heat gun to remove the Alox lube. I'm waiting for my hard lube to be delivered (Jakes Scarlet Ceresin, a more cost effective(cheaper) alternative to Zambini Rooster).

While I'm at it, since I'm new to the board, I've taken the liberty to add a couple of photos of my reloading bench, in all its glory(spelled clutter):-D
Morgan

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa159/pgfaini/100_1777.jpg

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa159/pgfaini/100_1775.jpg

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa159/pgfaini/100_1778.jpg

454PB
11-16-2007, 10:33 PM
My gawd man! Clean that up!

A while back I posted some pictures of a Star heater that I mickey moused from a T.U. coffee maker. The heating element is 900 watts, which is way more than needed, but sure heats up fast.....

It has no thermostat.....that's what failed in the coffee maker, but I have it plugged in to a power strip that has an on/off switch that is easily reached.

Swagerman
11-16-2007, 11:50 PM
Morgan, pretty neat affair you made there, how about putting an aluminum cover over the top so your wife won't think you swiped her iron. :-D

Glad you liked the idea enough to make one up.

Jim

Morgan Astorbilt
11-17-2007, 01:39 AM