PDA

View Full Version : Finally came in from the cold

Crank
11-15-2013, 04:20 PM
Greetings,
I am guilty of being a lurker, since I am not set up to cast. I always wind up here when I am searching for something and I finally decided to sign up. I will hopefully be a productive member of society here, but I sometimes drift away and don't keep up with the forum. I have been gunsmithing for a couple of decades and love to work on wierd stuff, this often leads to feeding some rather obscure calibers.

Mark

dbosman
11-15-2013, 04:24 PM
Welcome.
How you have fed some of the rather obscure calibers would be of interest to many of us.

Crank
11-15-2013, 05:09 PM
Most of the time, the brass is the headache; .32WSL, .35WSL, .351WSL, .401WSL, .219 Wasp, etc... Usually I am able to use jacketed or have a friend of mine cast for me. My .35 and .351 both needed a 180gr, so I bought the mould and he cast them up, same for the .401. Altering brass is a fun challenge.

Mark

BruceB
11-15-2013, 05:57 PM
Crank, amigo, Another warm welcome to you.

We have a rather "assorted" group here (hey, with 32,000 of us, how could we NOT be "assorted"?) but that just adds to the entertainment.

Be very careful if you decide to start casting.... it is habit-forming, to say the least.

Glad you decided to sign up. We need all the good folks we can get.

waco
11-15-2013, 06:02 PM
Welcome aboard!!!

Garyshome
11-15-2013, 06:10 PM
Glad to have you with us.

Crank
11-15-2013, 06:34 PM