PDA

View Full Version : 9MM Issues.

Hanzy4200
11-12-2013, 02:43 PM
I'm still a bit green, so bear with me. I've been reloading for about 2 years, and casting around 3 months. It has been a love at first cast.

My current issues are with my 9MM boolits. I'm having accuracy issues and a degree of leading. I'm using the Lee TL356-124-2R mold. A 124 gr RN for those unfamiliar. I am tumble lubing with LLA and sizing to .356. I have tried 3-4 different powders, COAL's from 1.00-1.25, tight crimps to very light crimps, water dropped and air cooled. I can't seem to get consistency. One shot flies straight, the next goes wild, and so on. I am unsure of the exact harness of my lead, as it is mostly WW mixed with range scrap.

What drives me nuts, is that my .45's are dead on. I'm casting 230 gr. RN and 200 gr. SWC and they shoot great out of both my .45's using the same alloy. I have also been loading and shooting thousands of Missouri Bullet Co. 124 and 115 gr. 9MM's for some time, with zero issues. No leading and excellent accuracy. These are sized at .356, and that is why I choose .356 for my own. Any ideas?

After 12-15 different combinations and failed attempts, I'm ready to pull my hair out. Am I sizing to small?

ultramag
11-12-2013, 03:05 PM
Have you slugged the bore? Without doing so it is hard to know if you are sizing to small or not. If I were to guess, based on my experience so far and the research I've done, you most likely are. I would expect sizing to .357 or even .358 would be beneficial.

This sticky is a good place to go for information to regroup and start over:

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?121737-Setting-up-for-boolits-in-a-new-9mm