PDA

View Full Version : dirty powder ?

tuckerdog
11-11-2013, 09:00 PM
I have seen on this forum and heard from others that unique is dirty and some of those folks wont use it. I have been using unique for around 30 years (since I was 15) and while it does leave a little grit behind in the barrel I have never seen a loss of accuracy or accelerated wear from using this powder except after extreme shooting. ie; 1500 rounds in one day without cleaning (actualy did this once just to see if I could)

even then a few swabs and good to go. so umm what is the issue? I use more unique than any other powder. not trying to start a frakus just wondering what the definition of a dirty powder acctually is.

JayinAZ
11-11-2013, 09:06 PM
All powders leave residue, I don't see the issue, either.

btroj
11-11-2013, 09:16 PM
Dirty powder isn't an issue in cast shooting in my opinion. The lube leaves far more residue than the powder.

Great example of a solution looking for a problem.

jonp
11-11-2013, 09:24 PM
Until I head into a war when I might need to run off a 5,000 round string without cleaning I am not going to worry about a little unburnt powder. Can't say I've had a firearm stop on me for being too dirty outside of the military. Unique could not have survived 100yrsif it was that bad

T-Dogg
11-11-2013, 11:08 PM
Good to hear. I just picked up a pound of Unique today for my very first lead loads (38sp). Not that I mind cleaning anyway.

Sgtonory
11-11-2013, 11:26 PM
I love unique i would use more of it if i could find it. I like all alliant powders have to use up my 18# of BE first. Have used Unique from 9mm to .308

MtGun44
11-12-2013, 03:41 PM
IMO, baloney. Never noticed Unique being particularly dirty. It is often particularly
accurate, and that trumps "dirty" instantly. I never really consider cleanliness as
a selection factor in powders. Unique is one of the most versatile powders out there,