PDA

View Full Version : .357 158 LSWC/8.0 grains Unique

Big Steve
11-06-2013, 01:30 PM
Hello Folks,

I have been handloading for many, many years now, although I took a brief sabbatical up until about 2 years ago when I started back. My favorite calibers to load/shoot are .45 acp and .357 magnum (although I carry 40 S&W's at work daily for the last 20 years, .357 for 10 years prior to that).

I have been loading my 158 lswc hardcast over 8.0 grains of Unique and a CCI small pistol primer (not magnum),and shooting them out of my Smith 66 and my Ruger LCR. Accuracy is good, leading is average to minimal, and most importantly I see NO signs of over pressure. Recoil feels appropriate, primers look good, cases fall out freely, brass is fine. I am very satisfied with this load and have no intention of going heavier.

My concern is that MOST data I see only goes up to 7-7.5 grains of Unique for this bullet. I actually started at 6 grains and worked up to this because I was not just trying to load a pipsqueak load,(I shoot .38 special for my light loads) I wanted a fairly stiff cast field load. I have seen a FEW load recipes calling for 8 grains, but the general consensus seems to be that this is a very heavy load. I just don't see it. Am I missing something here? Should this load be considered unsafe????

Thoughts Please !!!!!

Thanks,

Big Steve

paul h
11-06-2013, 02:21 PM
With revolver cartriges, you typically don't see pressure signs until massively overloaded. As I recall the 357 magnum is rated as a 30,000 psi cartridge, though the original rating was 40,000 psi. You typically don't get pressure signs until 60,000 psi. What level of pressure the gun can handle varies between guns as there are some very compact 357's that are not designed for over 30,000 psi, and there are 357's built on 44/45 sized guns that can digest the 40,000 psi loads with no problems.