PDA

View Full Version : tumble lude

tonysp101
11-03-2013, 11:16 PM
What is the best lube and way to lube a boolit. mold im ggoing to get is the lee 2 cavity tl452-230 grain.

Sgtonory
11-03-2013, 11:20 PM
45-45-10 tumble lube. Do a search on here or buy it from LsStuff.com a sponser here. Works great for me. I just use a old ice cream contaner.

ultramag
11-03-2013, 11:43 PM
45-45-10 tumble lube. Do a search on here or buy it from LsStuff.com a sponser here. Works great for me. I just use a old ice cream contaner.

+1

Use less than you think you need when you first start out. A very light coating is all it takes. Too much excess only gums up your seating die.

Bzcraig
11-04-2013, 12:19 AM
I too use Recluse' 45-45-10 and tumble lube. Didn't want to wait till I could afford a good lubesizer before I started shooting boolits. But with a recent 357 purchase will probably be one in my future.

True.grit
11-04-2013, 12:44 AM
What is the best lube and way to lube a boolit. mold im ggoing to get is the lee 2 cavity tl452-230 grain.

45-45-10 works for all my cast boolits. You can make it yourself with an electric burner. Look in the lube section. Do not was your money or time on a lube/seizer, like I did. I use it for 223-45/70. Just wipe of the top of the boolit with mineral spirits before storage. Good luck

jmort
11-04-2013, 12:44 AM
"But with a recent 357 purchase will probably be one in my future."

I bet your loving that GP100.

Larry Gibson
11-04-2013, 10:57 AM
You might just try LLA and follow Lee's instructions. It's not rocket science and if done correctly LLA works very well. Many use the 45-45-10 formula with success but many have leading problems with theirs. All home brews are not created equal but store bought LLA is 'equal" batch to batch. Not saying one is "better" than the other.

I use straight LLA as per Lee's instructions when I TL and have yet to have a "lube problem" with it.

Larry Gibson

Bzcraig
11-04-2013, 11:18 AM