PDA

View Full Version : Is this leading?

el roboto
11-02-2013, 04:13 PM
Sorry guys complete noob here working on and shooting my first loads. Does this stuff coating my rifleing look like lead? Or could it be the LLA/JPW lube? Sorry for the crappy cell phone pic.

AlaskanGuy
11-02-2013, 04:21 PM
Time to get the scrub brush out... Looks like leading to me... Most common ways to get that is to much powder, or a bad fitting bullet.. Alloy can also be a factor... Get the brushes out...

el roboto
11-02-2013, 04:27 PM
The reason im wondering if its the lube and not lead is I seem to have a good amount of it on the barrel throat too.

jcameron996
11-02-2013, 04:34 PM
It is hard to tell from your picture. Try running a patch soaked with Hoppes #9 through the barrel and let it sit for a few minutes. Then swab it out with clean patches. If the streaks are gone, its probably not lead.

el roboto
11-02-2013, 05:04 PM
patched a couple times. It did not remove all of the material but it removed a lot of it. Sorry i just cant get good photos with this phone and my camera is dead as usual. I do know that brushing will remove all of the material.

el roboto
11-02-2013, 05:19 PM
Another post patching picture. Hard to get good pics of this 86227

AlaskanGuy
11-02-2013, 05:26 PM
I am pretty sure its lead, but it is hard to tell for sure. If you could use a real didital camera, that would help. Sure looks like lead to me.... If it is lube, i would be removed with a standard copper barrel brush pretty easily in my experience. It it is lube, it is dang hard, time to switch to johnsons paste wax and bee's wax 50/50 with a colorful crayon thrown in for color.

el roboto
11-02-2013, 05:33 PM
I brushed the barrel then ran a patch through. This is the materials appearance on the patch. It does sparkle some when the light hits it, im not sure if the excess unique powder in the barrel could be reflecting or it it is in fact tiny lead specs

el roboto
11-02-2013, 05:34 PM