PDA

View Full Version : a few newbie questions..

goste
11-09-2007, 06:06 PM
Hello all,

Long time lurker, really like the vibes, on this forum. As a long time shooter, and a long time reloader, I'm new to casting bullets. I have loaded thousand's of cast bullets, but have never cast any.

I want to start casting, for a Makarov pistol. I have watched 9x18 go from $2.50 a box, up to crazy.....I don't have a Mak mould yet. I have some moulds, given to me some years ago, but I don't know what they are. they are at home, and I'm not, at the moment, but if I post the name, and number of the moulds later, maybe someone can tell me what they are...:-D

Anyways,

1. when ya'll flux the lead in the pot, what type of flux do you use? Is it like plumbers flux?

2. I know what antimoney(sp) is, but what form is it in, and where do you get it?

3.when you add tin to lead, what form of tin is it? is it a form of solder?

4. I have a bunch of wheel weights, will these be hard enough, for a 9x18?

5. when you drop from a mould into water, is it ice water, or tap water?

Thanks in advance guys.........Caspar

medic44
11-09-2007, 06:27 PM
Welcome, I can help w/ some of these.

1) Many things can be used for flux. Part of it depends on where you working at. I use candle wax because I work outside. Many of the fluxes produce smoke. Sometimes it helps to burn the smoke off. If you are worried about smoke and flames inside then you might consider Marvel lux (sp). Be careful w/ Marvel Lux because if you leave the container open it will attract moisture and that can cause the hot lead to splatter. Some guys use wood shavings or saw dust. Check out some threads on fluxing.

3) solder is one source of tin another is linotype

4) If you keep you fps slow there is no reason to need to harden WW