PDA

View Full Version : Ardesa Deerhunter .45 caliber

iwottopq
11-02-2013, 04:45 AM
Hello to all.
Anyone use this rifle?
This gun is no much expensive in Italy (about 200 euros) so I would like to purchase.
How it shoot???
What is the best minie stile boolit to use in it??? (possibly by Lee moulds!!!)
Can you suggest me some charge of BP???
Sorri for this many questions but I am new in the muzzleloading word.
Thanks in advance.
Nino

Dan Cash
11-02-2013, 08:45 AM
Welcome to the forum iwottopq. I don't know your rifle by Ardesa. A picture would be nice. The charge of black powder will depend upon caliber/size of bore and bullet weight. If the rifling pitch is not too fast, I would recommend a patched round ball. It will have more velocity, shoot flatter and use less lead = cheaper to shoot. If you buy the gun, best of luck to you with it.
Dan

fouronesix
11-02-2013, 08:46 AM
Info about that brand is sketchy here in the US. I suppose it is somewhat like many of the basic half stock models that have been made since the 70s. It may very well have a 48" twist bore- but you'll need to check.

There is one common 45 cal Minié mold available from Lee. I have never been able to get the Lee 45 cal Minié to shoot well in any rifle. Lee also makes a 45 cal solid base conical called the REAL. Some shooters have luck with the solid base REAL.

Or if you can find one, I'd suggest trying a Maxiball- another style of solid base conical. Lyman makes a 45 cal Maxiball mold.

Also, it may shoot a patched roundball very well. I'd start with a .440" roundball with pillow ticking patch.

A rule of thumb about starting loads is one grain blackpowder per caliber. So about 40-45 grains blackpowder would be a good staring point.

"error corrected"

dondiego
11-02-2013, 09:23 AM
I'd start with a 0.440 round ball and 45 grains of gunpowder.

11-02-2013, 10:10 AM