PDA

View Full Version : Accuracy Trouble with 44 Mag Single Shot Rifle

tappedandtagged
10-11-2013, 05:41 AM
I've been loading for 2 years now. Started reloaing for my S&W 629 as a cost effective way to stay on the range with factory ammo costing 80 cents a round. I have been loading Missouri Bullet 240 SWC (plain/bevel base) at an advertised 18 brinell with great results in my 3" revolver. Minimal leading at full throttle using AA #9.

From the begining I knew I wanted to add a 44 mag rifle to shoot along my 629. Recently I found a CVA Scout break action 44 mag rifle in stock at a local Academy Sports. The 22" barrel slugged at .427" and has a 1:20 twist.

I went to the range with my reloads using AA9 starting at the minimum charge going up to the max in 0.3 grain incriments with 5 loaded at each charge weight. It seems that out of five shots, only 2 or 3 would land close to each other at 75 yards. Then the shots would go high and left, or low and right etc... Mounting another scope did no good either and the best load was ~6" at 75 yards. The loads chony'ed ~1500-1675 fps.

I understand that these velocities are generally gas check territory, but seeing as I got virtually no leading, I figured I was good to go without gas checks.

So, a few questions. Keep in mind that I am not new to reloading, just new to cast boolits in a rifle. I have loaded cast for 5 different revolvers varying bullet hardness for each application. I have also developed very accurate rifle rounds for my AR and a couple bolt guns and one lever gun using jacketed bullets. I fully admit I have a lot to learn in the area of cast boolits.

Anyway, on to the questions:

Will a gas checked bullet help my accuracy? If yes, how? I can't wrap my head around how accuracy can suffer so much if I'm not getting a lot of leading.

Can I still get good accuracy with the PB boolit if I slow it down? If yes, what velocity should I aim for? I have a good supply of Unique on hand.