PDA

View Full Version : Who dreamed up the term pressure casting

Mike W1
10-10-2013, 11:07 PM
Now I'll grant that it works, some moulds apparently need that technique but you sure as heck can't be increasing the pressure of the alloy into the mould whether you dip or bottom pour. Gotta be a better term for it than that doesn't there?

Tdart
10-10-2013, 11:23 PM
By pressure casting you are using the weight of all the lead in the ladle to push lead into the mold as opposed to just using gravity to pull the lead in that will become the bullet. From a fluids perspective (I'm a physicist), pressure casting puts the cavity at the bottom of a fluid. Pressure at the bottom is higher than the top, so pressure casting makes sense to me. But I have been wrong before...

MT Gianni
10-11-2013, 12:18 AM
It wasn't dreamed up in this century and perhaps not even in the previous one. If it ain't broke.......................

MtGun44
10-11-2013, 12:32 AM
Yes, it DOES increase the pressure. The column of molten lead above the mold applies substantial
pressure due to gravity, just like a water column, but much more pressure for a given height of
material due to the high density of the lead. A 33 ft water column applies 14.7 psi, I bet a
6" column of lead applies a few psi of pressure.

Bill

theperfessor
10-11-2013, 12:56 AM
If my assumption for the density of lead is correct, a column of lead has a pressure at the bottom that is equal to about .4 psi per inch of column height, so a 6" high column has a pressure at the bottom of slightly less than 2.5 psi.

44man
10-11-2013, 09:31 AM
I have always had a problem with the term "pressure" when casting. You can't compress the molten lead or get more in the mold by a long column. You just force the air out. You will not change a thing if a ladle is full or half full or if the level in the pot is 2" or full.