PDA

View Full Version : Lead Poisoning

hswaters
10-10-2013, 08:23 PM
Anyone ever worry about lead poisoning? I was discussing casting bullets with a chemist friend and he was very concerned about lead poisoning?

500MAG
10-10-2013, 08:25 PM
As long as you don't chew on the ww's you'll be fine. Keep your hands washed after casting and cast in a well ventilated area and you will have no problems.

cbrick
10-10-2013, 08:35 PM
Rather minor concern. First and foremost . . . Keep lead and lead oxides well away from children, they are far more at risk than adults from lead poisoning. Second, do not eat it! You have to ingest it for it to do any harm. Use sensible precautions when handling lead sources. I have been casting for several decades and have my lead levels checked every year as part of a routine physical, the highest it's ever been is the low end of normal adult. Use good ventilation, don't eat or smoke while casting and wash your hands when finished plus I don't shoot in indoor ranges. Contrary to the main stream media these days lead is not radioactive, it cannot jump out and get you. It does not absorb through skin, you really do have to ingest it. Simply use common sense and there is very little to worry about.

Rick

waksupi
10-10-2013, 08:43 PM
Your chemist buddy needs to stick to his field of expertise.

Welcome aboard!

btroj
10-10-2013, 08:51 PM
I am a chemist, and pharmacist, and I don't worry one hoot about lead poisoning. If sat and shoot the stuff, I don't eat it.

The fears over lead poisoning are based upon lead paint and lead based glaze on pottery. Both involved eating the various metallic salts of lead, not the base metal. The base metal is very poorly soluble in stomach or intestine environments, the salts are readily dissolved and absorbed.

This chemist friend needs to educate himself on basic biology of the human gut.

dondiego
10-10-2013, 08:58 PM