PDA

View Full Version : Half frosty-ish boolits

Fordprefect
10-06-2013, 04:55 PM
So I am new to casting, in my first casting session I cast about 800 shiny boolits that are perfect(well they were perfect after I got them to stop wrinkling[and I have to say thanks to everyone on this website and the wealth of knowledge that you share that made it possible]). My First casts where range scrap that I melted down and cleaned up myself. The problem I am having is with my second casting session once again I cast about 800 boolits but they came out sort of foggy or half way to a frosty look. This lead is CWW and I am worried I may have a bad alloy. I am inserting two pictures of the same three boolits from left to right is a nice shiny one from the first cast and the second one over is the foggy boolit and the third is a frosty boolit, from when I got everything a little to hot added as a reference point. Anyone know what could cause this?
Sorry about the picture I got the camera out and the memory card is missing so these are pictures taken with the phone.

Pb2au
10-06-2013, 05:15 PM
The frosty appearance is due to the temperature of the mold/alloy being a wee bit higher than needed. It is nothing to get concerned about, the gun you are shooting them out of will not know the difference.
A good thermometer in your pot will help you keep track of the lead temp, and I use a wet rag to cool my mold against occasionally to help moderate it's temp.
I hope this helps.

Pb2au
10-06-2013, 05:16 PM
And or 42. That is the answer as well.

62chevy
10-06-2013, 05:40 PM
I'd say shoot 'em that's what I did with the frosty ones from my first cast.

gwpercle
10-06-2013, 05:50 PM
Nice boolits Douglas, you are doing just fine. It's just the heat, A little frost doesn't hurt a thing, I like to cast right at frosty-ish my self. Bump your heat down just a tad....and keep on keepin on...looking good. Your alloy is OK .

Welcome to site from Baton Rouge, La.
Gary

bangerjim
10-06-2013, 07:31 PM