PDA

View Full Version : 311299 won't chamber in 30-06 rem 760

farmbif
10-02-2013, 03:39 PM
I am fairly new to reloading with home cast boolits but have been reloading everything I shoot including shotshell, pistol and rifle for 39 years now thanks to my dad (may he rest in peace) getting me involved when I was a kid. I am having problem chambering 30-06 reloads topped with booloits cast with lyman mould 311299 lube sized in lyman 4500 with H&I .310 size die. COL is exactly what is called for in Lyman 49th manual. The cases are resized within spec and checked in Wilson case /headspace gauge. Possibly someone with more experience has some suggestions.

Blammer
10-02-2013, 03:41 PM
check the nose diameter on the seated projectile, when sizing it you may have "squashed" the nose and made it a bit fatter.

Are there engraving marks on the nose of the bullet?

Jailer
10-02-2013, 04:01 PM
I run mine through a Lee .310 sizing die to size and seat gas checks before I run them through the lubesizer.

Make a dummy round and mark it up with a felt pen if you're having a hard time seeing where it's hanging up.

Piedmont
10-02-2013, 04:11 PM
You may just need to seat it deeper. See where there is burnishing/engraving on the bullet or case. You may want to mark it all up with a magic marker and try to rechamber, then look it over after extracting. It is also possible that you bumped the nose up in your lubrisizer when sizing. If that is the case the nose will be heavily engraved.

243winxb
10-02-2013, 09:10 PM
Are you expanding the necks with a Lyman "M" die or something else? COL may be to long, like said by others.

jgt
10-03-2013, 05:41 PM
Are you using a small base die set? Remington automatics and pump guns need a small base die to size the brass with. The standard die used for bolt action guns won't work for reloading.

farmbif
10-03-2013, 09:45 PM