PDA

View Full Version : How soon to size after casting?

river-rider
09-25-2013, 03:04 PM
I have been casting for forty years but now I am starting to try to learn more about making good bullets. How long do you wait after casting before you size your bullets? I have sized as soon as they were cool enough to touch and I suspect that is not the best answer. I suspect the answer is here but I do not know how to phrase the question in the search.

andreadavide
09-25-2013, 03:21 PM
I, too am interested to know.

Char-Gar
09-25-2013, 03:43 PM
And the answer is: It does not matter!

There is some theory on this subject, but that is about all. If you have been casting for 40 years and what you are doing works, why ask those here with a small fraction of your experience?

Baron von Trollwhack
09-25-2013, 04:02 PM
Perhaps sizing is easier mechanically, and easier on the boolit sized when they are sized freshly cast. Hardness is then likely more consistent across the cast bullets after they "age" a bit.

Then perhaps they are more uniforn in the reloading process with respect the mechanical stresses involved, being harder. Certainly harder boolits generally resist leading, and , all else being equal, it is the "mature boolit" that typically has the shooting, accuracy, and performance characteristics desired, is it not?

BvT

1Shirt
09-25-2013, 04:41 PM
I usually size the same day. Just a habit I guess!
1Shirt!

Tatume
09-25-2013, 04:44 PM
Actually, it can matter, though not often. One of my revolvers has 0.4515" chamber throats. For some time a 0.451" sizing die was the only one I had. If I sized my wheelweight bullets the same day as cast, they were soft and would not spring back. Therefore, they were slightly undersized. It showed in my groups, as this was a very accurate revolver. Bullets sized a week after casting were hard, and would spring back about five tenths, and would be perfectly sized for that gun.