PDA

View Full Version : Problems loading cast rifle bullets

woody402
09-21-2013, 12:39 PM
I just got a set of 35/30-30 dies from CH4D. It is a 3 die set with an M die. The problem Im having is it still shaves lead and lube when I seat the bullet. The M die has a .356 plug and I'm trying to seat bullets sized .359. Is that the problem? They have not been very helpful at CH4D to be honest. When I called back to discuss it they said you need an M die and sent me the .356 and told me to remove the sizing nut on the recapping die. I have only loaded for 30-30's with cast bullets as far as rifle cast bullets with no problems. I have a lot of experience with pistol castbullets. Any help would be great. Maybe good info to set the dies up from the start? Thanks.

Bent Ramrod
09-21-2013, 01:04 PM
You will probably need to supplement your die set with either a Lyman "M" die in 35R or a RCBS or Lee Universal Expander. I notice that the CH4D dies I have are kind of minimal sized when it comes to the expander pin.

Most die sets are primarily for jacketed loading, although some of them can be made to work with cast. The Cowboy dies RCBS makes are kind of the exception to the rule. But mostly, to use cast, an "M" die is indicated.

woody402
09-21-2013, 01:08 PM
You will probably need to supplement your die set with either a Lyman "M" die in 35R or a RCBS or Lee Universal Expander. I notice that the CH4D dies I have are kind of minimal sized when it comes to the expander pin.

Most die sets are primarily for jacketed loading, although some of them can be made to work with cast. The Cowboy dies RCBS makes are kind of the exception to the rule. But mostly, to use cast, an "M" die is indicated.
What I have notice since tinkering with the dies is the seating die is sizing the case doe before the bullet is seated all the way. Causing the lead shaving.

ShooterAZ
09-21-2013, 01:34 PM