PDA

View Full Version : Am I being a fool or far?

Swamp Man
09-14-2013, 10:42 AM
Hey guys I've been facing something since 2000 that's gotten to the point I don't think I can fight it any longer. I have R.A. I found out in 2000 and been under a doctors care ever since. I was 34 when I found out I'm almost 48 now I'v worked with the aches and pains for years and there getting worse. It's got to where almost any type of labor or lifting over 35-40 pounds causes me pain for days. My hands and feet cramp up a lot easier if I do any type of repetitive motion for more then 15-20 minutes at a time. I'v owned a tree/plant farm for many years but now with this Obamacare hanging over my head I'm going to have cut back on my help which I don't want to do but I have no choice. When this takes place I either have to fill in and make up for those last man hours or shut down. I really don't think I can do it so I have decided to shut the farm and turn over the lease on the 200 acs. I hate the thought of putting good men out of work some have stuck with me since day one a few came from my old landscape/lawn business I ran before the tree farm. I talked with my wife about this and we made the choice together. To sell the stock and split the take on a percentage bases based on the years they have been with us with the workers that will be out of work for who knows how long. None of this is the workers fault and I know it's going to put them in a hard spot but I really don't know what else I can do. After all is said and done I'll be able to pay off all my bills and have a little left but not much. Then I'll be facing something else I don't want to do and that's file for my SS I never thought it would come to this at my age I thought it would be many years before I had to do that.