PDA

View Full Version : aluminum gas checks

hornady
09-07-2013, 08:02 AM
Long story short a good friend sent me some 22 aluminum gas checks. Personally I have no experience with the aluminum GCs. I have a couple questions, I assume they snap on like copper. But how well do they stay on once fired. And will they take as hot of load as the copper. Basically from those who have used them what do you think of them.

dragon813gt
09-07-2013, 08:16 AM
There are threads about this in the gas check section. Some will tell you they fall off and aren't as accurate. I've seen no difference on paper. But I can control the check thickness which plays a big part in keeping them on the bullet.

44man
09-07-2013, 09:14 AM
The check has one purpose, to halt boolit skid at the base and keep gas from going through rifling marks larger then the grooves in the barrel. That is it, nothing more. All kinds of stuff is attributed to them.
I never tried aluminum but don't see why they wouldn't work if the same thickness as the copper ones. Thinner is not good, already smaller then bore dimensions. If the size die sizes the check they should work but not as tough as copper so they might still skid.
I like checks to stay on to the target but it should do no harm if they all fall off at the same place out front as long as they provided the seal at the base.
My take is you can't get the same velocity that copper checks can reach. Now you get involved with the alloy same as you do for a PB. That means the boolit must halt skid before the base is reached.

41 mag fan
09-07-2013, 09:33 AM
I've done a side by side comparison on Al GC, and Copper GC using a Browning 45-70.
The aluminum was harder to get on vs the copper, but the copper would have a tendency to fall off vs the alumnum would stay on.
What i found on accuracy, was the aluminum would shoot good using one style of lube and the copper would shoot good using another style of lube.