PDA

View Full Version : Looky What My Wife Found For Me

Foto Joe
08-30-2013, 07:22 PM
I've been searching for a smelting pot to cast wheel weights into ingots ever since I learned the hard way that using my Lyman 10lb pot was a bad idea. I didn't want something too big like the bottom of a propane bottle or a cast iron dutch oven, I just didn't want to put my poor camp stove under THAT much stress. Last week when my wife was returning from the airport in Billings she stopped by a junk store and found me a 2qt cast iron "stew pot". What a GREAT find!! I attacked the 200lbs or so of COWW's that I've been sitting on for two months this morning. It holds probably just over 20 lbs and I fill it enough so that I can get three 5 lb +/- ingots poured out of it at a time. A vast improvement I must say and the camp stove is none the worse for the experience other than some splatter that will clean up nicely.

Gtek
08-30-2013, 09:45 PM
Congrats on your upgrade. I would find a piece of steel or stainless sheetmetal and make a ring that is about a 1/4" to 3/8" away from pot up to handle, maybe even notch it in handle area to get lip of pot level. Just might cut your gas and time a wee bit. Gtek

IROCZ
08-31-2013, 01:20 AM
Very nice Joe, I've been checking the scrap yards for a smelting pot with no luck yet.

jonp
08-31-2013, 07:44 AM
That's funny, check out what mine brought me home last night from an antique shop she stopped at on the way home from work! $10

Foto Joe
08-31-2013, 09:27 AM
I would find a piece of steel or stainless sheetmetal and make a ring that is about a 1/4" to 3/8" away from pot up to handle, maybe even notch it in handle area to get lip of pot level. Just might cut your gas and time a wee bit.