PDA

View Full Version : Starter Equipment

lj1941
08-22-2013, 10:36 PM
I am obviously very new to the forum. I have been handloading for more than 30 years. I have never even thought about casting until very recently. My question is: What do I need in equipment to get started casting ? I have shot a lot of factory cast boolits and would like to start casting for 1 caliber,possibly 45ACP. I will be on a very tight budget,so I can't afford to go first class. I really should have done this sooner-but I did not.Any help or suggestions will be appreciated.

USAFrox
08-22-2013, 10:44 PM
I'd recommend a lee pro-4 20lb electric melting pot (bottom pour - $50), a lee 6-banger mould in your favorite profile ($40), and a lee .452 push-through sizing die ($14). The sizing die will come with a bottle of lee liquid Alox lube. With the alox and a $5 tub of Johnson's paste wax and a small bottle of mineral spirits, you can make some recluse 45/45/10 lube. This gives you everything you need to cast for one caliber - a melter, mold, and lube. If you pick up lead from the berms at the range (free), you can then cast for free.

Joe504
08-22-2013, 11:59 PM
I second the above. I went with the lee 10lb and have forever wished I had the bigger pot. You could go with the 2 cavity lee mold to save a few bucks. I use the 2 cavity and it works well.

08-23-2013, 06:26 AM
Yard sale cast iron pot, modified spoon for a ladle, propane burner and a Lee mold. Basic, very basic.

Jupiter7
08-23-2013, 06:48 AM