PDA

View Full Version : Question about slugging barrel

Big Dipper
08-20-2013, 05:06 PM
I just slugged my first barrel. 357 mag 10" T/C barrel. I measured the lands and grooves with my RCBS calipers. The lands measured .345 and the grooves measured .356. This is my first time so i don't know. After I cast some Lyman 358156 what die do I use in my Lube-a-matic to size them? I am getting closer to shooting some free boolits.

Kent Fowler
08-20-2013, 05:16 PM
If you have both a .357 and .358 sizer, then, what ever works for you. If you are going to buy a sizer, I'd opt for the .358 as it can be used to size other 357 revolvers as well.

mroliver77
08-20-2013, 10:14 PM
Load a dummy with an as cast boolit and see if it chambers ok. Both my 156 molds drop .358-.359

wv109323
08-20-2013, 10:25 PM
Have you verified that your caliper is accurate? I would measure two or three jacketed bullets of known size. With calipers and soft lead in a slug you may be a thou or two undersize If truly .356 I would first try .358 because it is common.

Big Dipper
08-20-2013, 11:02 PM
Thanks for the replies. I will verify my calipers with some jwords and also my micrometer. I could not figure how to mic the slug.

Iron Mike Golf
08-20-2013, 11:36 PM
Use the micrometer. You don't really need the bore diameter to figure out what sizing die to use. You need to know the groove diameter. Is your barrel rifled with an odd number of grooves? If so, you can tightly wrap a thin feeler gauge around your slug and then subtract twice the gauge thickness.

Stephen Cohen
08-21-2013, 12:07 AM
Iron Mike Golf, thanks for that idea on barrels with odd number of grooves, never would have thought of it

geargnasher
08-21-2013, 12:30 AM
You're correct, Piedmont, but he isn't measuring a revolver.