PDA

View Full Version : question about gas checks and cast boolits

harryman
08-18-2013, 10:18 PM
I'm still new to casting my own boolits and just started using gas checks.
I have read lots of post and also have always have been told to remove all traces of copper from the barrel before shooting cast loads.
So that being said placing copper gas checks on lead boolits don't seem right if the copper in the barrel will affect the cast loads.
just curious and know there is a lot of knowledge here for me to learn from.

303Guy
08-18-2013, 11:06 PM
Good question. Well, we know gas checks do work and don't copper foul the bore (I think). I have a rust 'textured' bore two-groove 303 Brit to which I fitted a fixed suppressor made from 4140 steel. To prevent internal corrosion I dip the jacketed boolit bases into my 'waxy-lube' mix which is wax based and hardens on cooling. It coats the interior alright but it also lubes the bore and that gun has never had any copper fouling with me and shoots pretty accurately too. So I'd say it's the lube in front of the check that prevents copper fouling. But maybe we don't see it and just assume its lead? But I'd say not.

harryman
08-20-2013, 09:42 PM
come on guys I know someone can give more input on the subject.

fcvan
08-21-2013, 01:41 AM
Cast boolit lube provides a thin layer for both the lead and the gas check. A jacketed bullet normally does not have any lube at all. Some shooters coat jacketed bullets with Molybendum Disulfide which makes the bullet slicker than greased snot (or so I've read) which would tend to prevent copper fouling.

In my personal experience of shooting cast with gas checks, the leading edge of the check does more to scrape the bore clean whereas the fully jacketed bullet has no 'harsh edge' but has a smooth transition from the ogive to the full bullet diameter.