PDA

View Full Version : "Dirty" looking bullets

Mark
10-14-2007, 05:19 PM
Please help if you can. I casted about 15 lbs of 429244's today. I tried a mystery alloy mixed with my usual ww's. I guessed the mystery alloy was linotype but I have no way to be certain. I mixed about 2 pounds into with 20lbs of ww metal. I usually cast at about 700 degrees. When I did this, the finished boolit looks dirty like if if there were specs of dirt in the alloy or very small air bubbles. I turned down the temp to about 600 degrees to experiment and the problem seemed to be reduced. Any ideas?
Thanks,
Mark

Blammer
10-14-2007, 05:30 PM
your pot may need cleaning.

bigborefan
10-14-2007, 06:21 PM
I have been casting bullets for over 30 years and I too have experianced what you are describing for over a year now. I have seen the same situation come up in previous posts and the same suggested culprit as dirt in the mix. Well, I have come to the conclusion it is not from improper fluxing. I've fluxed my alloy numerous times with just about every flux material that you can imagine. It appears when using my bottom pour RCBS pot as a bottom pour but when using a laddle in the same mix, the bullets appear alright. It also appears to get worse the longer that you cast. It also does not appear early in casting when the mould and alloy are not as hot. I have a book on bullet casting that shows this condition as trapped gas but doesn't tell of a remedy for it. I will just keep using the laddle til someone comes up with a better theory. By the way, I am presently using an alloy of pure lead with enough tin to give me a 1/30 alloy and I still get this condition using the bottom pour of my pot.

454PB
10-14-2007, 09:53 PM
This question came up just a short time ago. Was your mould absolutely clean and free of preservative and/or grease?

When hot alloy hits a oily mould, it can form gas bubbles on the surface of the boolit that look very much like sand or dirt.

Mark
10-15-2007, 01:45 PM