PDA

View Full Version : Ventilation

RX7Dryver
10-13-2007, 09:05 PM
Hello,

This is my first post here. I am gathering the required materials for me to start casting, I am a newbie.

I have a pretty good idea about the procedures used and the equipment that I need to begin casting. (mostly from reading the Lyman cast bullet manual)

One question that I have that I cannot find any information about is what kind of ventilation is required when casting?

testhop
10-13-2007, 09:59 PM
do it outside if at all possable if you must cast inside then use a fan like a big window fan
and use cross ventilation with a door or window open
make sure to wear gloves along with long sleve shirt long pants sterty shoes safty glasses

454PB
10-13-2007, 10:00 PM
Welcome to the forum!

You'll get lots of opinions on ventilation. Do you have kids? Think of them when choosing a casting location. Casting outdoors is the least offensive, but not always practical. The neighbors might figure out what you are doing and call the EPA.

Now my personal opinion....

I cast in my basement for years with no ventilation, and two kids living in the house. Both are seemingly normal now, 30 years latter. If I did it today and anybody found out about it, I'd probably be arrested.

I now cast in a totally seperate building, with no ventilation. I use Marvelux for fluxing, which eliminates the smoke. I've been casting for 37 years now, and have no health problems, other than hearing loss from too much shooting and playing rock n' roll in a band. I'm also a smoker, and have been for 45 years. A lot of strikes against me, huh?

You will probably decide to play it safe and either cast outdoors or install a vent hood to pump it outside where your neighbors get lead poisoning. Good luck in your decision!

NVcurmudgeon
10-14-2007, 02:53 AM