PDA

View Full Version : Extension cord for Lyman pot

nessus
07-22-2013, 02:29 AM
Newb here, sorry if this has been asked a millions times already or if it's a stupid question.
I am just getting started and purchased a Lyman Big Dipper casting furnace. Can this be plugged into an extension cord or does it need to be direct to an outlet?

Thanks in advance.

Hickory
07-22-2013, 04:46 AM
The only way I'd risk using an extension cord would be one I make myself from # 12 electrical wire with heavy-duty male/female plugs on each end.

HATCH
07-22-2013, 07:09 AM
Depends on the length of the extension cord.

Get you a 12ga one and you should be fine.
The pot will pull 7 amps or mine does.
I wouldn't run a 100 foot cord but a 15 ft should be fine. Just feel the cord every oncecand a while to check for heat.

mikeym1a
07-22-2013, 07:19 AM
Yeah, the #12 gauge extension cord should be fine, but like suggested, not too long. Most of your household wiring is #12, so that gauge extension cord should be fine.

Enjoy your new pot, and hobby. I find liquid metal very soothing. :D

imashooter2
07-22-2013, 07:20 AM
Extension cords are rated. Use a cord rated for the pot loads and you'll be fine. Plug it in to a dollar store cheapie and you can have a fire on your hands.

nessus
07-22-2013, 11:04 AM
That's exactly the kind of info I was looking for. Thanks everyone!
I will start looking for a 12 gauge cord, or heck maybe I will just make one.

Thanks again

Johnch
07-22-2013, 11:16 AM
That's exactly the kind of info I was looking for. Thanks everyone!
I will start looking for a 12 gauge cord, or heck maybe I will just make one.

Thanks again

Just don't buy a cheap cord

Hate to say this

But buying a good cord is normaly cheaper than making one
As #12 SO or SJO cord and cord caps ar not cheap these days

John

Dale in Louisiana
07-22-2013, 02:03 PM