PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Brass Shotshells

notjustsomeone
07-06-2013, 08:37 PM
I'm getting a lot of delayed ignition of the main powder charge, with occasional failures to ignite at all but never a misfire from the primer.

Magtech 12ga brass shotshells
TulAmmo Large Pistol Primers
20gr Unique Powder
1/4in leather over powder wad
1/2 compressed cotton patching as filler wad
450gr of 32-caliber lead round balls
- or - about 275gr of .177 steel shot
thin plastic overshot wad
rubber cement around rim to keep wad in place

I'm new to reloading shotshells. At first I thought the issue may be that the flash hole is above the base of the shell, but after trying to fill that space with a leather wad, with a hole for the primer pocket, the results were only marginally better. I've read about people having problems with the tula primers, but so far I haven't had any primers fail to ignite. I don't think the powder's bad because I'm using the same powder in pistol rounds with wsp standard primers without issue. The shot doesn't seem to affect the odds of getting a misfire, but I didn't label them very well. I get the feeling that the cotton patch as a filler wad could be the culprit. I've read about similar materials being used, though I believe mainly with black powder. Can the lack of pressure from a fairly loose filler wad allow enough expansion that the primer would fail to ignite the powder charge?

I thought I'd try to get some feedback from this site before I try anything else.

jmort
07-06-2013, 08:52 PM
You should be over in the casting for shotguns forum. Read this thread
http://www.cascity.com/forumhall/index.php/topic,48392.0.html
and this thread
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?202246-Brass-Shells-and-Smokeless

OP seal seems critical.

runfiverun
07-06-2013, 08:54 PM
yes you need solid compression on the powder.
if you take your load and substitute just a plastic wad it will fail the same way.