PDA

View Full Version : Need help crimping Lee 405 grain HB boolit for my Trapdoor Springfield

mgillespie
07-01-2013, 09:51 PM
Hi folks-

I'm a newbie to boolit casting, but I am sliding farther and farther down that slippery slope.

I just purchased a Trapdoor Springfield and am casting some 405 grain boolits using the Lee hollow base single cavity die (Lee Item #90268). No problems casting the boolits, (well, nothing that a 30 lb fire extinguisher couldn't fix) but I have a question about seating them.

The boolit has 3 grease grooves, and above the last grease groove their is a small ring, not a flat or a crimping groove or cannelure.

Should I crimp this above the ring, or below it in the third grease groove? I tried crimping above the ring, but did not get much of a crimp.

I have attempted to attach a picture.

Any help would be much appreciated. I hope to shoot the old girl on the 4th of July.

MT Chambers
07-01-2013, 10:37 PM
That bullet does not have a crimp groove, I'd crimp it in the top grease groove if that length will chamber.

MtGun44
07-02-2013, 12:42 AM
No need to crimp in a single shot.
Forget about it.

That is THE boolit for the Trapdoor, I had great results over 10-14 gr of Unique.

Bill

Scharfschuetze
07-02-2013, 01:17 AM
MG,

I use that bullet in several Trapdoor rifles.

As mentioned above by Mtgun44; no need to crimp with smokeless, but it's a different game with black powder. Do you plan to use smokeless or black powder?

Those big lube grooves carry a lot of lubricant and with an SPG lube (or facimilee) you probably don't need to lube the top lube groove when using smokeless. With BP, you'll probably want to fill all the lube grooves and crimp over the top rim. With smokeless powder, I've had good luck using an NRA 50/50 lube with the bullet cast pretty soft.

dromia
07-02-2013, 03:24 AM
No need to crimp in a single shot.
Forget about it.

That is THE boolit for the Trapdoor, I had great results over 10-14 gr of Unique.

Bill

Concur.