PDA

View Full Version : new here and a question

eljefe
08-15-2005, 04:33 PM
I wanted to introduce myself, and ask what will probably be an obvious question. My name is Mike Horst, from Baltimore, Md. I have been shooting for many years, and have reloaded for the past 20. I am an NRA member, and a father and husband. My kids range in age from 15 to 22. I have recently been bitten by the casting bug! I have cast some round balls from lead, but want to get into casting bullets for rifle and handgun. I scrounged some wheel weights, and also purchased a cast iron pot from a secondhand store to melt them. The pot has some surface rust...does this need to be removed before melting the weights? I appreciate any comments!
Thank you in advance,
Mike

David R
08-15-2005, 05:00 PM
Naa, the surface rust won't hurt, just wipe it out. When you flux your metal, it will take care of the rest. I make ingots in a muffin tin. They fall out easier if the tin is a little rusty. Just MAKE SURE there is no moisture in the pot or your lead. One drop of water in molten lead can empty the pot in a hurry.

Welcome and have a blast.

David

Buckshot
08-15-2005, 06:25 PM
............Mike, Welcome to the board. You've a very interesting journey ahead of you! One thing nice about round balls. They're always point forward.

You're gonna be using that cast iron pot for rendering wild native WW's into domesticated nice clean ingots, right? You have a seperate pot you're casting from right?

So what kind of rifles and handguns are you going to be casting for?

.............Buckshot

NVcurmudgeon
08-15-2005, 08:27 PM
eljefe, Welcome to the board. For a good starting point, read Lyman's Cast Bullet Handbook. This will probably raise as many questions as it answers. That's what we are here for-to swap knowledge and help each other.

BruceB
08-15-2005, 08:45 PM
Welcome, welcome.

Come on in, the water's fine (just keep it out of the lead pot, as mentioned).