PDA

View Full Version : NRA Pistol Nationals, Camp Perry, anyone going?

mtnman31
06-22-2013, 11:55 PM
This is my first year going to Camp Perry for the pistol nationals. If anyone else is going and would like to meet up with a fellow site member/caster, drop me a PM and we'll see what we can work out. I won't be hard to find...

I'll be shooting a number of matches and am pretty excited at the prospect of my first trip to the big one.

cattleskinner
06-23-2013, 12:02 AM
I doubt I will shoot any pistol stuff, but am thinking of trying out the rimfire sporter match this year.

Moonman
06-23-2013, 10:47 AM
I'll go watch a day, visit CMP and Manufacturers Row.

Watch the lake a little, get some GREAT FISH to eat around Port Clinton.

It's just a beautiful couple hour drive for me.

Echo
06-23-2013, 11:42 AM
I went in '05, figuring I ought to go before I got too Old & Ugly. Waited too long - shot the sorriest score EVER! Last time there I shot 2622 - this time I don't think I broke 2300. Hints:
1. Take foul-weather gear - one never knows, and there are NO roofs or wind-breaks on the line! And it takes REALLY BAD weather to cancel the match!
2. Take a hand truck to haul your gear. No telling how far away you will park, and even if you park as close as possible, there is still a good walk to the firing line. Then there is the walk up to the 25-yard line, and the walk back to the 50-yard line. A truck will make it easier.
3. Be prepared to shop at the CMP store. Good buys...

Johnch
06-23-2013, 01:17 PM
I will not be shooting
But as I only live 20 min away
I go and watch / shop a number of times

John

wv109323
06-23-2013, 02:13 PM
I would advise you visit some of the web sites for Bullseye pistol shooting and get the checklist of things to take with you. Could save you a lot of $ preparing ahead.