PDA

View Full Version : Electric Shocks from a Lee Production Pot IV?

birch
06-22-2013, 08:30 PM
I've had this ol' girl for a few years, and bought it new. It has been a very good pot, until this evening. The wife and kids wanted to catch some bullheads, and I fired up the pot to make a few bell sinkers for bottom feeding. I let it warm up for about 20 minuts, grabbed the mold, and----Ouch! I grabbed onto the metal handle like I always do, and it really let me have a good one. I quickly tapped the handle, and it was still catching a charge.

I assume there is some insulation that has worn through somewhere in the circuit. I am hoping someone out there has had a similar situation and might have an easy fix. I like the pot, but have been toying around with getting a bigger rcbs pot that doesnt drain so quickly.

I am no electrician, but if someone can offer some insight into what might be the problem, I would appreciate it. I can never let something go until I know it is truly dead with no hope for redemption.

dragon813gt
06-22-2013, 08:52 PM
Pull it apart and find where the wire is shorted. There isn't much to them. There is no way I would use the pot until it's fixed. And as stupid as it sounds. Make sure it's unplugged when you pull it apart.

Dale in Louisiana
06-22-2013, 09:38 PM
Get yourself a multimeter, unplug the pot and start isolating circuit components. My Lee pot has a two-prong plug and that means a short to the case will not have a path to ground to trip the circuit breaker, so the path is through YOU.

A common failure is for the resistance element inside the heater to ground out. You can easily find this with a multimeter. With the conductors disconnected from the element, check between on of the terminals and the case. If you get a reading near zero between a terminal and the case, then the element is in need of replacement.

You can also inspect the cord, especially where it enters the back of the unit. Also look at the thermal switch.