PDA

View Full Version : To slug or not to slug, that is the question!!!!!!

1Shirt
06-22-2013, 03:44 PM
I have been shooting cast for over 50 years now, and have yet to slug a bbl. Probably seem like some kind of nut being a cast shooter who has never slugged a bbl, but I am kind of old school, and don't like fixing what works for me. Nothing against them who do believe in slugging the bbl, but it is a "to each his own proposition", I think.

What I do, when I get a new weapon (or new to me weapon) in most cases, is to load a few rounds say 5-10 each with what the Lyman manual recommends size wise, and shoot them.

If it is a used weapon/milsurp or otherwise, I spend an appreciable amount of time insuring that I get all the jacketed fouling out. When I shoot the test loads, if I get no leading and decent accuracy, I may-or may not go up a thousands of an inch or so in quest of the MOA grouping. Depending on cal/cartridge that I am shooting, I will usually be happy if I am someplace between MOA, and MODeer. If I do get leading, I definitely go up at least a thousands or maybe even two, until I get no leading and get acceptable accuracy. Rarely, have I ever gone down in size, the exception being with a K-31 Swiss that I started out at .310 with some lee blts. The rifle wanted .309 for most of the lee projectiles, but the exception was the 180 grainer, and it shoots best with .310.

As a result of this practice, I have saved myself the frustration of casting soft lead slugs, possibly sticking a slug in the bbl, and making some other mistake involving slugging barrels that I have read about over the years. I guess part of the reason for me doing it my way, is that I am not handy with tools, and have never wanted to chance buggering up a barrel. After over 50 years of shooting probably over 100 different weapons, I am comfortable with what I do.

1Shirt!8-)

ShooterAZ
06-22-2013, 04:14 PM