PDA

View Full Version : Ball powder under cast???

shooting on a shoestring
09-26-2007, 09:59 AM
It stems from my childhood, a bias against ball powders in rifles. Dad was shooting lots of 220 Swift, 22-250 and .243 Win. at prairie dogs, well for the long shots. He used 218 Mashburn Bee, 219 Donaldson Wasp, 222 and 223 for the under 200 yd shots. He never used ball powder b/c it would cause premature throat erosion in the high intensity rounds. I do recall a canister of Ball-C sitting on the shelf, but I never saw it used.

I started thinking about using ball powder under cast boolits in my old 30/30. It has iron sights and I often shoot it freestanding, unsupported. I've been trickling my 4895 and 4198 to weight for my 2000 + fps loads, but dropping charges of Unique or Herco for my 1500 fps loads. I shoot lots of the 1500 fps loads partly b/c I can load them quickly without trickling to weight. So I'm wondering if I could use Ball-C or H335 to get about 1800 to 2000 fps on 150 gr boolits and drop charges like I do for Unique.

Anyone have thoughts?

44man
09-26-2007, 10:19 AM
Heat is heat is heat and it doesn't matter what powder it comes from. Match the burn rate and I don't think there is any difference. I have used tons of ball powders.
Much was said about the powder sandblasting the forcing cone on revolvers but my revolvers don't look any different from when 2400 was the only magnum powder. A ball is not any harder then a stick.

Ricochet
09-26-2007, 10:26 AM
Ball powders generally burn cooler than IMR powders.

Bass Ackward
09-26-2007, 11:11 AM
Ball powders generally burn cooler than IMR powders.

The translation on this is pressure is erratic unless used close to the intended purpose and they are harder to ignite. Neither is true for modern balls such as those by Ramshot.

I use powder as filler. So the bulkier it is the better off I am. I prefer stick in all but the fastest speed applications.

AZ-Stew
09-26-2007, 02:17 PM