PDA

View Full Version : A rather amazing discovery

BBQJOE
06-15-2013, 12:52 PM
I have been reloading all my ammo for the last 6 or 7 years, with pretty good luck. I haven't shot any factory ammo since I began reloading.
Recently I came across a box of Fiocchi 9mm I had put away a few years ago and decided to shoot a few.
Holy moly! It's like everything went into fast forward. The slide, the bullet, the recoil and the kaboom were a world apart from what I have been loading these last years.
I don't have a chrony, but I'm betting these bullets flew much faster than anything I have been loading for years.
It was on the edge of scary. I'm also betting the slide operated almost twice as fast.

What does this tell me? I'm not sure, except that factory ammo appears to be a lot hotter than what I/we may be loading.

Iowa Fox
06-15-2013, 01:10 PM
Thats exactly why I have been reloading for over 50 years.

Sgtonory
06-15-2013, 01:54 PM
I know what you mean. I have a lot of factory ammo but never shoot it since i have been reloading. Its a lot nicer to shoot mild 9mm and 38special loads. That and my brass drops at my feet on my 9mm dont have to run all over the range picking it up.

NoZombies
06-15-2013, 03:12 PM
lower powered loads also tend to reduce wear and tear on the guns (well, there's still the potential for sliding wear, but nothing a decent gun oil wont fix)

dverna
06-15-2013, 03:18 PM
I have "plinking" ammo that is fun to shoot. I also load stuff at the same level as factory for "when it matters".

Reloading allows us to tailor our ammo to our needs/desire.

BBQJOE
06-15-2013, 03:33 PM
I have "plinking" ammo that is fun to shoot. I also load stuff at the same level as factory for "when it matters".

Reloading allows us to tailor our ammo to our needs/desire.
Yes. I had just forgotten how hot some factory stuff is.

jcwit
06-15-2013, 03:50 PM
Absolutely, being as Arthur likes to settle in my wrists the mild hand loads are the way to go.

captaint