PDA

View Full Version : Questions from a complete NOOB

Bayou
05-29-2013, 08:47 PM
Fellas have paitence since I'm sure these questions have asked before. I have been reading alot lately about casting and since I purchased my first 45 yesterday I want to load for it also. I currently load 9mm pistol plated but wanting to move towards lead whether it be from my own casting or purchasing. The question is, when does it make since to cast verses purchase? If I couldn't get free lead or would have to purchase from a recycler is it worth it money wise to purchase the lead and cast or is purchasing made boolits the better route. Kind of a loaded question since I have no casting tools now but buying those tools is acceptable. I imagine someone has broken down the costs in purchasing lead versus buying by lets say 500 or 1k lots. Not even mentioning the different kinds of lead that I would be looking for at the recycler or tire shops. Thanks for looking and I'nm sure I will have more questions as this could be the tip of the iceberg.

Love Life
05-29-2013, 08:52 PM
It is cheaper to cast as long as you don't get ridiculous with what you buy. I have one mould per caliber that works very well. I sell off the ones that don't do well in my guns. I keep the equipment to a minimum. Going this route I save a ton casting my own over purchasing plated or cast.

It is up to you how expensive this hobby is/gets.

ultramag
05-29-2013, 08:54 PM
Even with buying my lead I can cast about 3 boolits for the price of buying one. I also enjoy the casting and being even more self sufficient. The main thing that won me over to casting however is that all my home cast boolits are consistently more accurate than those that I buy.

Green Lizzard
05-29-2013, 08:56 PM
for me it would be worth it even if buying them were cheaper, that said the more you can scrounge the better. making them is fun and they shoot much better than comm.

10mmShooter
05-29-2013, 09:06 PM
Bayou,