PDA

View Full Version : 102gr 9mm C.O.A.L. suggestions

Chunkin' Lead
05-28-2013, 04:57 PM
I am very new to casting and got my hands on a .356 102gr mold. The cast is throwing correct dia. so i am not resizing, but none of my ref materials have a max O.A.L for that particular projectile. I know alot of ppl use this mold for .380. Any help i could get in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Also i am very new to this site so if i posted this in the wrong place feel free to scorn lol, i find this site to have some very useful info and dont wanna get in trouble with the admins.

kir_kenix
05-28-2013, 05:03 PM
I would use your barrel to determine OAL. There are numerous on-line guides that will show you how to do this. Basically, you start with the boolit seated out far, and reduce OAL until the case rim is equal, or slightly below the barrel hood. Many people refer to this as the "plunk test," and you can youtube it. Make sure you cycle the rounds from the magazine to ensure they feed correctly once you have determined the maximum OAL that will fire from your barrel.

kir_kenix
05-28-2013, 05:07 PM
By the way, am I right to assume that the boolit in question comes from a Lee mold? If it does, this is a great boolit. I use it in a variety of guns, from .380, 9mm, .38/.357, and some rifles with tight bores. I am a huge fan of this boolit, and I am lucky that my example drops .3585-.359 with my alloy. I size all of my 9mm/.380's to .358, unless they have an unusually tight bore (I'm talking about you Walther!). Good luck, and have fun sending some projectiles down range that you created yourself.

Bwana
05-28-2013, 05:11 PM
I load that boolit to 1.05" in my 9mm loads.

Chunkin' Lead
05-31-2013, 01:36 PM