PDA

View Full Version : Tested some converted brass.

wallenba
05-25-2013, 11:24 AM
This is just to say, that it is true, that even a blind squirrel finds a nut every now and then. A month ago I bought 25 used Remington 30-06 cases at a local gun shop, from a coffee can, for 10 cents each. I'm not real fond of Remington generally, as I usually find it thin in the necks. Nevermind though, as I was going to convert them to 308 Win. as I'm low on those. I found that the new necks were quite thick, after reforming they were 0.0170 , as they are from the old shoulder material. I'm still learning the art of neck turning. So after bringing them down to 0.0130 thick, I began wondering if I had cut them too far. Too far towards the shoulder that is. I decided that testing them with a light load would be prudent. I found some Lee C312-155-2R's that I had culled due to defects and decided to use them, along with a small quantity of IMR-3031 I had left. I had to interpolate a start load from the Lyman 4th, between a 150 and a 160 grain cast, as none was listed for the Lee. I decided on 27.5 grains. I had just enough for the 25 cases.