PDA

View Full Version : Great Pan For Melting Range Scrap

kenp1980m
05-14-2013, 09:52 AM
Hi all! I'm brand new to casting AND reloading. I actually haven't cast yet, I'm in the process of cleaning my range scrap. Picked up 170lbs of it at my indoor range. I started with the 10lbs RCBS lead pot... It took about 1 hour to realize it was no good for cleaning scrap. I looked around and didn't find anything other than Dutch ovens being recommended. I found a great cast iron 10.5" pan MADE IN USA :-) at Target for about $16. It has pour lips on both sides as well as handles on each side. I used it yesterday and it was great! Just wanted to put that out there for any newbs that are cleaning range scrap. Home depot also has a decent single burner made from cast iron rated at 50,000 BTUs for $50. I think it even comes with hose and regulator.

plinky56
05-14-2013, 10:56 AM
Cool beans!

C.F.Plinker
05-14-2013, 12:01 PM
Is that made from aluminum or from cast iron?

YunGun
05-14-2013, 12:31 PM
Is that made from aluminum or from cast iron?

I found a great cast iron 10.5" pan MADE IN USA at Target

<sigh> Wish we had a Target nearby, as I find myself looking for a replacement for an old cheapo aluminum pot I was using (yes, I know that's not recommended, but it served me quite well for several hundred lbs of range scrap & only cost a couple bucks at a flea market) that finally gave up the ghost after I stupidly cranked up the heat & left it unattended for awhile....:rolleyes:
On the plus side I was nowhere near it when the bottom let loose, but the yard now has a nice big bare spot after I peeled the cooled mass of lead outta the grass... :oops:

lars1367
05-14-2013, 02:22 PM
I use a Walmart stainless stockpot I picked up on the cheap. It feels dang flimsy now, so this is the right post at the right time! Thanks.
-Corey

D Crockett
05-14-2013, 02:27 PM