PDA

View Full Version : When it my bore clean

dtknowles
05-11-2013, 11:20 PM
I normally stop cleaning when it seems pointless. I have never run a patch through a bore that it did not come back with something on it. Even my benchrest rifles that I clean about every tenth shot still show something on the patch even after a bunch of patches.

I run a couple patches wet with powder solvent thru the barrel on a bore brush then follow with a few dry patches and they look dirty so I run another wet one thru and then follow with a few dry ones: still have smudges on the last patch so I say the heck with it and go back to shooting.

Similar story on my other rifles even when I start with copper remover or lead remover .

What is normal?

Tim

DLCTEX
05-11-2013, 11:30 PM
I've been cleaning guns for 58 years and that's the way they have all been. Well, a few more years if you count BB guns.

runfiverun
05-12-2013, 03:40 AM
sometimes i think you are just seeing a reaction between the cleaner and the steel.
i don't even bother cleaning a barrel until accuracy drops off.

Hickory
05-12-2013, 03:53 AM
A lot of the newer solvents are pretty harsh and need to be to remove copper fouling.
The problem is the bore brush, it's made of copper too, and will leave copper residue behind after "cleaning" the bore.
When a patch is used, it removes the debris the brush left behind.

dromia
05-12-2013, 04:24 AM
For copper fouling I have been using this new UK product C2R, just swab the barrel let it soak and then patch out with water soaked patches no scrubbing.

Being water miscible it works with BP fouling and corrosive primer fouling. It is a bit too effective for lead shooting barrels but I am experimenting with it being diluted in water for lead bore use.

Here are a couple of reviews I did on another forum.

As yet there is no US distributor but the supplier will be shooting the F-Class World Championships at Raton this year if anyone wants to check it out.