PDA

View Full Version : New Guy Needs Help

Mark in NM
05-10-2013, 04:59 PM
Hello,

Looked around the site and could not find anything to answer a question I have, I apologize if I overlooked it somewhere.

I am new to bullet casting, I inherited my Dad's molds etc. and I'm having difficulties with one mold in particular, a Lyman 410429 for .41 mag. The castings drop from the mold under weight, they are referenced at 220 grains, and they drop at various weights of 204.5 to 209.8 measured on both an analog and a digital scale. The other moulds are producing their respective advertised weights with my melt, I did everything the same. I understand keeping things consistent, my melt has not deviated.

Out of frustration, I've tried 50/50 WW and linotype, 25/75 WW and linotype, and lastly all WW. The WW material I personally scrapped, and that lot has been used throughout. The bullets from the problem mold are well defined, sharp driving bands, and are highly satisfactory with exception to them being underweight.

I'm perplexed and seeking the counsel of anyone willing to share their knowledge.

Thank you,
Mark

Tatume
05-10-2013, 05:06 PM
Hi Mark,

If the bullets are well formed and shoot well, don't worry about the weight. There's not much you can do about it anyway.

Take care, Tom

ku4hx
05-10-2013, 05:10 PM
What weights did your various alloys cast? It might be good to know to get a trend of sorts.

I have a Lyman mold I bought around 1970 (429215) and it's advertised weight of 215 grains is dead on with Linotype metal. In fact, Lyman lists loads for that bullet with the note "Linotype". If I cast it from 92% Lead/2% Tin/6% Antimony, it consistently weighs 228 grains. My Lee 10mm/40 175 grain molds cast consistently at 178 grains. Advertised weight is based on a given alloy and what the maker uses may not be what you're using.