PDA

View Full Version : Have ammo shortages affected any of us?

smkummer
05-07-2013, 07:24 PM
I don't consider myself a hoarder but I buy when I see a good deal as I really shoot alot. I have been doing this for the last 15 years and I still have good supplies of surplus military ammo plus all of my reloaded ammo with 75% of that using cast bullets. I still have about a 2 year supply of 22 rimfire (short, long, long rifle and magnum). I have about the maximum amount of powder (including the last of the military surplus) and primers allowed but occasionally some well used powders (700X) have to replaced . I still shoot all I want as my lead supply is also well stacked (thanks sixpointfive!). For myself I could "weather" this out for long long time. I am not bragging but does anyone else here feel the relief that reloading, thrift buying and casting has allowed one to feel during these times?

btroj
05-07-2013, 07:41 PM
No "relief", just a lack of worry over having enough supplies.
I have enough components to shoot for a year or more with no problems. Once things settle down I will replace some primers I have used up.

I won't even discuss how much powder I have on hand.....

labradigger1
05-07-2013, 07:43 PM
Learned my lesson in spring 09, ever since i buy even if i dont need it, pretty satisfied with my actions. What the gov calls a hoard i call a good start

Sgtonory
05-07-2013, 07:53 PM
I will be good for a few year at the rate i shoot now. About 30k primers and 21lbs of pistol powder and 16lbs of rifle powder.

hiram1
05-07-2013, 07:53 PM
Im good to go for a year or so .In all bullits i need [most are cast ].I still have a pile of 22 s and 45 s38s 223 3006 357 40 s and 9 mm.so im good for now

grampa243
05-07-2013, 08:08 PM
I let my primers get a little too low but i'm not out yet.

Jailer
05-07-2013, 08:21 PM
I'd be a little happier with a bit more 22lr but other than that I'm good for quite a while.